My Time Has Come

Based on Matthew 26:14-30

“My time has come”

Betrayed by a disciple. A confidante. A trusted and beloved friend. And for what? The price of a slave? The Son of God reduced to a commodity to be bought and sold.

And still, he was in control. Still he knew and accepted his path in life, giving up his will to the father. For you. And for me.

“My time has come”

A meal to be prepared. The celebration of a nation’s freedom from slavery as one man is sold back into it. Meticulous preparations put into place to commemorate the sacrificial lamb while meticulous preparations are completed to sacrifice the Lamb of God himself.

And still, he was in control. Still he knew and accepted his path in life, giving up his will to the father. For you. And for me.

“My time has come”

He sits down with the twelve. Those he has loved, lived with, eaten with, laughed with, cried with, taught for the last three years.

Including his betrayer.

“Not I, Lord!” they all exclaim. But the one who sold him for 30 pieces of silver lies and dips bread with his Lord.

And still, he was in control. Still he knew and accepted his path in life, giving up his will to the father. For you. And for me.

“My time has come”

The bread. His body. Broken, whipped, nailed to a cross in just a few hours time. Torture and agony beyond comprehension. Broken for us.

The wine. His blood. Pouring from open wounds down his head, his body, the wood of the cross. Shed for us.

And still, he was in control. Still he knew and accepted his path in life, giving up his will to the father. For you. And for me.

“My time has come”

They leave, singing. Heading for the Mount of Olives. Heading for a night of painful, self-sacrificial prayer, of sweating blood, of betrayal and arrest.

And he goes willingly. Lovingly. Our master is now our servant.

Greater love has no one than this, to give up their lives for their brother or sister.

And still, he was in control. Still he knew and accepted his path in life, giving up his will to the father. For you. And for me.

“My time has come”

Leave a Reply

