All I am is yours – Reflection on Spring Harvest 2016, day 1

“So I’ll stand with arms high and heart abandoned

In awe of the One who gave it all

So I’ll stand, my soul Lord to You surrendered

All I am is Yours”

We sang The Stand by Hillsong United during the first evening celebration at Spring Harvest tonight. I was caught by the last line of the chorus, “All I am is yours”. There we were, around 2-3000 Christians in a tent, singing this line of utter commitment to God, but how many of us would actually follow through with it?

My guess, not too many.

But just imagine if we all did…

Imagine that many people all saying to God, “OK, you can have everything. The lot. Just tell me what to do and I’ll do it. Tell me where to go and I’ll go there. Tell me what to say and I’ll say it. Anything. All I am is yours.”

That’s what is being asked of us. We heard Gavin Calver of the Evangelical Alliance talking about Moses, a very ordinary man with a speech impediment, putting himself in that very situation. By doing so he freed an entire nation from slavery; or, rather, by doing so he allowed God to free an entire nation from slavery. He then led them to the very edge of the land God had promised all those years ago to Abraham.

One man said “all I am is yours” and all that was achieved.

Multiply that by two thousand. Three thousand. One hundred thousand. One million…

Imagine every single Christian, actual practising Christian, in the UK said to God “all I am is yours” and then did it. 

The Matt Redman song says “Send revival, start with me”. Well, revival is already here, if we really want it. But it’s up to us to step up to the plate. The more of us who put our lives where our mouths are and trust God enough to go out there and do his will, not our own – to walk in real faith rather than a Sunday morning piecemeal version of it – the more real and powerful and world changing that revival would be.

It’s so easy for us to say that all things are possible with God, then leave it all up to him to do it all. For that real revival, that game changing movement we need in this nation and this planet, we need to be people of real faith-filled action. The time of sitting back and waiting, of our westernised sense of entitlement and comfort, must end. Now.

The burning bush is in front of us. The cross and the empty tomb is in front of us. The risen Jesus is in front of us. They all call us to action, to giving our lives for God’s Kingdom. To listen for God’s will in our lives and to fully commit to following it.

It’s easy to say. Let’s see how easy it is to do it…

Leave a Reply

