We all need a rest

Matt 11

This is one of those weeks which I knew I was getting myself into when I applied to be a Reader in Training for the Church of Scotland.

I have an assignment due in by the end of this week (only 500 words and, in a rare moment of organisation and good time management, I have actually done it). I am driving the 160 miles from work at 5pm on Friday to the college I’m studying with in Dingwall in order to be at a conference day on Saturday. I have a week’s worth of studying and a lecture (plus, of course, a full time job). Oh, and I’m preaching on Sunday for the first time at my placement Church, so I also have a sermon to write.

All mixed in with being a taxi for my kids.

It genuinely feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day sometimes. You are pushed from pillar to post as your nose is constantly stuck in a book, or you’re glued to a computer screen or you’re behind the wheel of a car. It’s almost as if your life amounts to less unless you are constantly busy, always on the go; like the proverbial fly with the blue backside.

But sometimes you just need to stop. You need to have a break. You need to push through that guilt you feel for not working towards the next thing on your to do list (as if I’m ever organised enough to have a to do list!!) and just rest. Modern life gives us too much to worry about and not enough to just sit back and enjoy; it’s our responsibility to do that for ourselves. Nobody is a robot – in case you are, in which case no, I’m not Sarah Connor, now go away – we are flesh and blood and that needs to rest occasionally.

I need to remind myself of this as the work really starts to ramp up. Yes, I’ll work hard, I’ll give all I can give to it all. Not, however, at the expense of my wellbeing or family life. If I did that, I’d be no use to myself, my family, to my workplace or to God. Even he rested on the seventh day (or, arbitrary period of time, considering the creation story in Genesis is just an illustration).

So, I watched the Rugby this afternoon after doing my assignment. Then I did more reading. Now I’m doing this, just to get some stuff out as a therapeutic measure.

 “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (Matthew 11:28-30; The Message)

Yes, we all get tired and burned out. We all need to rest and be refreshed. So I will stop and enjoy life, I will watch a bit of sport, I will chat with my family and I will just spend time with Jesus.

Anyway, I have a sermon to write…

Leave a Reply

