I’m fed up

  

I’m fed up.

I’m fed up of so many things which should actually be important.

I’m fed up of politics. I’m fed up of people arguing with each other and it becoming personal. I’m fed up of automatically assuming political opponents must be wrong. I’m fed up of soundbites and pretty posters rather than sound arguments and consensus. I’m fed up of partisan tubthumping. I’m fed up of petty name calling, much raking and negative campaigning. I’m fed up that it is easier to call out others for their failings than to defend your own beliefs. I’m fed up that a straight answer to a straight question is so rare, and is so viciously attacked when it comes. I’m fed up of hypocrisy within politics.

I’m fed up that I find myself dragged into it so easily. I’m fed up of spending more time attacking other parties’ policies than promoting my own. I’m fed up of saying what I don’t stand for than what I do stand for. I’m fed up of arguing with people I’ve never met before just because my chosen colour is green and theirs is purple or blue. I’m fed up of being outraged and feeling helpless to do anything about the thing which has outraged me. 

I’m fed up.

I’m fed up of division. I’m fed up of hearing Christians arguing between themselves about matters of doctrine in a way which ignores the big issues. I’m fed up of people clinging to labels; liberal or conservative, straight or gay, evangelical or progressive, cis or trans, black or white, atheist or religious; ignoring the fact that we are all just human beings. I’m fed up of people being made to feel shame for what they are rather than revel in the beauty of who they are. I’m fed up of sneering, jeering, ignoring, sidelining, insulting and marginalising those we see as different to ourselves. I’m fed up of the fact that we concentrate on our differences so much more than on the many wonderful things we share. I’m fed up of not celebrating our differences, but of jealously guarding them.

I’m fed up.

I’m fed up of all of this and more. I’m fed up of the fact that this post is starting to read like a rewrite of John Lennon’s “Imagine” and that even I am reading it as some sort of “why can’t we all live in peace and harmony” kind of thing.

And I’m fed up of the fact that we see that as silly.

I’m fed up.

But I’m not giving up.

The thing is that we’re not perfect. I’m not perfect and neither are you. So all of these things are inevitable as we blunder our way through life. The trick is to recognise when things are wrong, when things need to change, and to try to do something about it. The trick is not to beat ourselves up when we lapse back into the old ways of doing things. The trick is to try, however hard it seems, to see each person as unique and with their own beauty. It is harder for some than for others, but it really is true about everybody.

And then, the trick is to coax that beauty out until it starts to overtake the grime of outward appearance. Not to mould others into what we want, but to help everybody to mould themselves into what they could be; what they’re meant to be. Including ourselves.

You may say I’m a dreamer…

Leave a Reply

