Be a kid!

“When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put away childish things.” (1 Cor 13:11)

No, no I didn’t put away childish things. Paul may have, but I still embrace the childish things. They’re fun, they bring joy, happiness and silliness to life. I need these things to keep me going, pull me out of the mire and add some colour to life.

The other day I saw a tweet by @Lolly_Knickers (Worth following, by the way. She’s funny) which simply said “I killed Lucy”, a reference to the murder of Lucy Beale in Eastenders (which I don’t watch anymore, but still got the reference). I replied that I shot JR, which led to an increasingly silly conversation where we claimed responsibility for a series of historical soap opera events. Daft, but really good fun.

She then tweeted “we are grown ups. I never imagined that this is what grown ups do when I was little”.

This is the truest thing I’ve ever seen on Twitter. Two 40 year old children claiming to have burned down Crossroads Motel and that they are Mr Opodopoulous is inane and not what I ever imagined grown ups do. (I apologise to anyone from outside of the UK, or under the age of 40 who may not get either of those references)

I always thought that I would, one day, feel like a grown up. When I was 20 I thought I’d feel like one by 30. When I was 30 I thought I’d feel like one by 40. Now I’m 40 and, well you get the idea. I just feel like I’m pretending I’m an adult. It feels like everyone around me is mature, responsible and knows where they’re going in life, while I’m still a kid trapped in a bald, middle aged body.

Then I have conversations like that on Twitter. Or my wife tells me how she broke into song at a job interview (primary school teacher – it sort of makes sense). Or I have a conversation with a 70 year old man who says that he feels like he’s pretending to be a grown up. These things make me realise that everyone feels the same. We’re all just kids in adults’ bodies still trying to find our way in the world.

Yes I’m more mature than I was. Yes I can be a grumpy old man at times. Yes I can go off on very serious rants. But, I still want fun and silliness. I still need to have pointless conversations, just for a laugh, or put on stupid voices, or laugh like a drain at a not very funny joke. We all do. Life is there to be lived and enjoyed. It’s a gift and a blessing which we can sometimes miss by letting the world get on top of us and crush us so that we’re care worn, cynical and too serious.

Let’s be kids. Not all the time, we need to be serious and responsible as adults. But, just at times, we need to let ourselves go and be silly, joyful and carefree. We need to just enjoy life.

Come on. Last one to do it is a rotten egg!

One thought on “Be a kid!

Leave a Reply

