Preparing to prepare

It’s an important week this week.

Yes, besides our annual excuse to eat pancakes! (Not that you should ever need an excuse to eat pancakes, of course)

This Wednesday is Ash Wednesday, the first day of Lent. Lent signifies the period of reflection, prayer, repentance, sacrificing and self denial leading up to the Holy Week of Easter. It is a way of cleansing body and soul as followers of Jesus prepare to celebrate His victory over death and sin which happened during His crucifixion on Good Friday and resurrection on Easter Sunday.

And we do this, in the modern age, by giving up chocolate for a few weeks.

In the past I have done just that, which culminated in a mild Caramac addiction. I have also given up alcohol, which can’t have been much of a sacrifice as I’ve been teetotal for seven years now. I haven’t, however, put myself through any of the other preparation for Easter. Bad Darren!

So, here’s the deal. Over the Lenten period I will be carrying out a daily Bible study, as set out on BibleGateway.com (put together by the Central Presbyterian Church of Baltimore). I’ll then post my reflections on each reading on this blog.

If you want to study it along with me then just click the link above. It follows the four gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke & John) with one chapter of 1 Corinthians to finish with On Easter Saturday. Please also comment on any posts if you agree or disagree with anything I’ve written. Especially if you disagree as I’m under no illusions that I have a lot to learn, so being called out on any misunderstandings I have would be perfect for me.

Writing this post also means that I have to do it. I mean, if people actually read this then there are people out there who may notice if I skip a day. It may be that nobody notices, but I can’t take the chance.

I might give up chocolate, too. You’ll never know if I cheat on that one, though!

Leave a Reply

